New NGA Chairman Seeks Less Association Duplication

LAS VEGAS — The National Grocers Association must work more closely with other industry trade associations to become more efficient - to eliminate duplication of effort and provide services it cannot do on its own - Joseph Sheridan, president and chief operating officer of Wakefern Food Corp. [3], and the newly elected NGA chairman, told the association at its convention here.

Speaking a few hours after his elevation from vice chairman, Sheridan said NGA “must be an association that accepts all family-owned businesses and lets all independents know NGA is the place to grow together.”

He also said NGA must expand and evolve “to enhance our value to the membership and look for new ways to engage our vendor partners. The independent channel has a tremendous opportunity to grow, despite being overshadowed by larger companies, and we will work to let suppliers know the independent is the backbone of this industry.”

Sheridan succeeded Chris Coborn, chairman of Coborn's [4], St. Cloud, Minn., who completed a two-year term. Other new NGA officers are Rich Niemann Jr., president and chief executive officer, Niemann Foods, Quincy, Ill.; vice chairman; Kevin Doris, president of Gerland Food Fair, Houston, treasurer; and Nick D'Agostino 3d, D'Agostino's Supermarkets, Larchmont, N.Y., secretary.

New NGA directors are Mary Le Blanc, Le Blanc's Food Stores; Erick Taylor, Pyramid Foods; Jimmy Wright, Wright's Market; David D'Arrezzo, Grocery Supply Co., Houston; Mike Stolarz, Foodtown; and Linda Doherty, New Jersey Food Council. They succeed five retiring board members, including Carole Bitter, chairwoman of Friedman's Freshmarket, Butler, Pa., who has been the board's longest-serving member ever, at 17 years.