Skip navigation
Greg Ferrara-NGA CEO-2022 NGA Show.jpg National Grocers Association
NGA President and CEO Greg Ferrara (second from left) chats at The NGA Show 2022 in Las Vegas.

NGA names 2022 board of directors

Three retail, five wholesale executives among new members

The National Grocers Association (NGA) announced its 2022 board of directors and executive committee members at The NGA Show annual conference and trade show in Las Vegas.

NGA said yesterday that the new directors include nine new members recommended by the board’s nominating committee, and by a subsequent vote by the association’s membership, and one appointed director who will serve with the re-elected board members.

Steve Henig-Wakefern.pngSteve Henig, chief customer officer at ShopRite parent Wakefern Food Corp., is one of the NGA board's new wholesaler members. (Photo courtesy of Wakefern)

The new NGA board retailer members are Richie Morgan of North State Grocery Inc., Garrett Piklapp of Fareway Stores Inc. and Paul Rowton of GES Inc./Edwards Food Giant.

Also joining the board are five new wholesaler members — Richard Chapman of G&C Food Distributors, Steve Henig of Wakefern Food Corp., Jay Mitchell of Mitchell Grocery Corp., Bob Obray of Associated Food Stores Inc. and Ray Sprinkle of URM Stores Inc. — and two manufacturer/supplier members, Joe Mueller of Kellogg Co. and Casey Fannon of National Cooperative Bank.

“I’m grateful to our board of directors who have volunteered countless hours to serve our association, particularly as we continue to navigate challenges brought on by the pandemic and return to a new normal,” NGA President and CEO Greg Ferrara said in a statement. “As we kick off a yearlong celebration of NGA’s 40th anniversary, I look forward to working with the Board of Directors to help the organization enhance resources for our members and strengthen the independent supermarket industry.”

Also at the show, which wrapped up on March 1, NGA announced the officers appointed to its 2022 executive committee. This year’s committeee members include Ted Balistreri of Sendik’s Food Market as chairman, Mike Stigers of Cub Foods/United Natural Foods Inc. as vice chairman, Richie Morgan of North State Grocery as treasurer, David Smith of Associated Wholesale Grocers as secretary and Cheryl Sommer of Kaune’s Neighborhood Market as immediate past chair.

NGA, too recognized the service of outgoing board members, who include Kristi Magnuson Nelson of Hugo’s Family Marketplace, Mike Violette of Associated Grocers of New England, Steve Heggelke of Bozzuto’s Inc., Dave Conroy of Fiserv and Stratton Sigler of Unilever.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.