Skip navigation

IGA Names Retailer of Year Finalists

CHICAGO — IGA here said Wednesday it has named seven finalists for the 2013 IGA USA International Retailer of the Year award.

The alliance said executives will visit each of the finalists' stores in December to get a first-hand feel for how they serve their communities and then determine which three finalists will be honored at the IGA Global Rally here in April.

The seven finalists are: Tammy Bailey, Bailey's IGA, Rochester, Wash.; Jim Cherry. Cherry's IGA, Girard, Ill.; Blake Meek, Lawrence Brothers IGA, Roswell, N.M.; Nakul Patel, Mt. Plymouth IGA, Mt. Plymouth, Fla.; Mike Trask, Granite Falls IGA, Granite Falls, Wash.; Ken Tucker, Evergreen Market IGA, Greenville, Calif.; and Jeff Zollpriester, Quality Foods IGA, Schofield, Wis.

Read more: IGA Store Breaks Record With Longest Bratwurst

The Global Rally is scheduled for April 13-16 at the Marriott Hotel in downtown Chicago. According to Mark Batenic, chief executive officer of IGA, Inc., the business sessions at the rally will focus on "where our industry is heading, exploring both the challenges and opportunities that will surface in independent retail in the coming months and years."

The sessions will feature a combination of IGA retailers and industry speakers "to provide real solutions you can put in play immediately, as well as innovative ideas that help you prepare for long-term success," he added.

Suggested Categories More from Supermarketnews


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.